Categories
Art Life Nature Photography

Early Morning Color

hibiscus
Hibiscus on my back deck.

When I went into the kitchen this morning a flash of color caught my eye, a bud on my Hibiscus had opened.  I have had this plant for years, if memory serves, since 2005, it didn’t cost much, maybe $25 USD, you can find them for a similar price at any home center.  This is the same one featured in “On My Back Deck,” a post I had made some time back.  It’s not had an easy life, neglected, not watered, battered by the storms, frost bitten, etc.  In other words, it’s had the typical treatment a single man would give it.  I am amazed at how it’s “hung in there,” managed to survive, and bloom year after year.

I think we could all take a lesson from this simple plant, no matter how rough things get, how beaten up we are by life, we should stay resilient and keep in mind that someday soon, the sun will shine, and we will bloom once again.

T.

By Terry Cavender

Professional photographer, writer, living and working in the Atlanta Georgia area.

6 replies on “Early Morning Color”

Thank you, at first I was just going to post an image of the bloom. My friend Mattie had mentioned what a pity it was she would miss seeing the bloom because she would not be around, so I decided I would shoot and post it for her. After thinking about the hell that plant had been through over the years, the words came to me, enlightened? I don’t think I would go that far…LOL Hopeful? Yes!

Thanks for the enlightened thought, Terry. It’s a good reminder of proper perspective….I so enjoy your writing!

Leave a comment